

### NASPI AWARDS 2017 Announced and presented on April 24, 2018 at the NASPI Work Group meeting in Albuquerque NM

The North American Synchrophasor Initiative (NASPI) is an international community of electric industry members, researchers, and vendors working together to advance the understanding and adoption of synchrophasor technology to enhance power system reliability and efficiency. This is the fourth year that NASPI has issued awards to recognize significant accomplishments and contributions of its members in 2017.

The NASPI awards represent recognition from the U.S. Department of Energy (NASPI's lead sponsor) as well as NASPI membership. The awards are signed by Bruce Walker, DOE Assistant Secretary of the Office of Electricity Delivery and Energy Reliability, and Alison Silverstein, NASPI Project Manager.

NOTE – For those award recipients who were present to accept their awards at the NASPI Work Group meeting, photos follow the text below.

#### **Outstanding Utility – San Diego Gas & Electric**

SDG&E was an early PMU adopter and now has a large PMU deployment. They are using synchrophasor technology to modernize wide-area situational awareness and on-line and off-line operations support. They are pioneering distribution-level PMU uses and innovative transmission monitoring.

#### Synchrophasor Champion – Tariq Rahman, SDG&E

Tariq oversees all synchrophasor projects at SDG&E, which now has full PMU coverage of its high-voltage transmission system and many creative uses for PMUs, including generator and microgrid monitoring. Tariq has been an outstanding evangelist for synchrophasor technology.





Alison Silverstein (NSPI Project Manager) with Tariq Rahman & Hassan Ghoudjehbaklou (SDG&E); Silverstein & Rahman

#### **Outstanding Reliability Coordinator – Peak Reliability Coordinator**

Peak RC uses over 300 of its members' PMUs for real-time high-speed monitoring and situational awareness across the 16-state Western Interconnection. Peak uses pioneering software for baselining, oscillation and voltage monitoring, model verification, linear state estimation, and more. Peak has been a strong contributor and leader within NASPI and the industry.



Alison Silverstein (NASPI Project Manager) with Hongming Zhang & Alex Ning (Peak RC)



#### Lifetime Achievement Award – Vahid Madani (PG&E, retired)

Vahid Madani recognized the potential of synchrophasor technology to improve grid operations and reliability early on. His commitment and industry leadership over two decades at PG&E greatly accelerated the maturity, adoption and use of synchrophasor technology.



Alison Silverstein (NASPI Project Manager) and Vahid Madani

# Control Room Solutions Task Team Most Valuable Player – Dr. Sarma (NDR) Nuthalapati (Peak Reliability Coordinator)

NDR has been a huge contributor to the CRSTT's efforts to help control room operators understand and use PMU data. He has led development of the Oscillation Detection and Phase Angle Alarming papers and contributed to the video event library and other papers. His knowledge and enthusiasm encourage others to do better.

## **Data & Network Management Task Team Most Valuable Player – Tony Faris (Bonneville Power Administration)**

Tony pioneered industry efforts for PMU functionality, performance and interoperability testing. His work on PMU data quality and management and, recently, on alternative data archive technologies will enable future synchrophasor-based analytics that are impossible today. Tony has been exemplary at sharing and teaching BPA's insights with others through NASPI and elsewhere.



## Distribution Task Team Most Valuable Player – Dr. Sascha von Meier, California Institute for Energy & Environment

Sascha accepted the challenge of standing up and leading NASPI's Distribution Task Team in 2016. Since then, the DisTT has attracted many new members, produced an excellent technical paper, and has more foundational technical work under way on emerging distribution opportunities and analytical methods.



Alison Silverstein (NASPI Project Manager) & Dr. Alexandra von Meier (CIEE, UC Berkeley)

## Engineering Analysis Task Team Most Valuable Player – Dr. Brett Amidan (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory)

After several years applying artificial intelligence tools to PMU data, Brett is leading and coordinating EATT activity on data mining techniques and tools. This technical paper will be valuable for the entire industry.



Alison Silverstein (NASPI Project Manager) & Dr. Brett Amidan (PNNL)



#### Performance Requirements, Standards & Verification Task Team Most Valuable Player --Dr. Allen Goldstein (National Institute for Standards & Technology)

Allen has been a steadfast leader and contributor to the standardization and performance testing and quantification of PMUs and synchrophasor measurement. He has led the IEEE ICAP Test Suite refinement, revisions to the PMU test guide (C37.242), and the Phasor Application Requirements Task Force applications testing effort. He has been a strong contributor to the PRSVTT, IEEE-PES and the industry as a whole.



Alison Silverstein (NASPI Project Manager) & Dr. Allen Goldstein (NIST)

# Outstanding Graduate Student (1) -- Jiecheng (Jeff) Zhao (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)

As a graduate student, Jeff has contributed to a number of important synchrophasor initiatives, including examining the impact of measurement error on synchrophasor applications, developing a novel ultra-fast PMU for dynamic transient monitoring, improved FDR quality, and worked on machine learning for data authentication and cyber-security. He has shared this work through NASPI.





Alison Silverstein (NASPI Project Manager) and Jiecheng (Jeff) Zhao (UT Knoxville) Outstanding Graduate Student (2) -- Ling (Ellen) Wu (University of Tennessee, Knoxville)

Ellen has been instrumental in supporting NERC's wide-area oscillation event analysis, developing FDR datasets and illustrative videos of oscillations to improve industry awareness. This work contributed to the success of the NASPI-NERC-IEEE Forced Oscillations Technical Workshop.